The Components
The System
Diamond Anatomy
Estimating a Cut Grade
GIA Grading Reports
Tools for the Trade
Learn More
Contact Us
GIA Home

GIA has calculated the cut results for 38.5 million proportion sets based on the assessment of seven components.

The first three — Brightness, Fire, and Scintillation — are appearance-based aspects. The remaining four — Weight Ratio, Durability, Polish, and Symmetry — are related to a diamond's design and craftsmanship.

In the GIA Diamond Cut Grading System, each component was assessed individually, taking into account the relative importance of that component in the overall cut quality of a round brilliant diamond, and the ability of an average, experienced observer to consistently see the differences in cut quality based on these components.